Hello Adventurers! While last year was the 10 Year Anniversary of Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn, this year is our 10 Year Anniversary of playing Final Fantasy XIV: A Realm Reborn! So, we thought it would be nice to look back at those halcyon days of times long ago. Specifically, ten years ago. And to join us down this trip on memory lane, we are joined by the fellows Chille and Paul of Moogle Go Round Radio! MGR is a FFXIV podcast and stream where they, if you can believe it, talk about Final Fantasy XIV. They also just recently celebrated their own 8th Anniversary of existence! You can trust us when we say they were the perfect pair to chat with us about how TP used to be real and could hurt you.

Spoiler Levels: La Noscean Toast! This is not an especially spoiler-filled episode, unless you have never played Final Fantasy XIV at all ever. In which case, have you heard about the free trial? And then come back to us after you finish up with ARR. Otherwise: Enjoy this delicious episode that has been soaked mixture of buffalo milk and eggs, and then fried in creamy butter. A specialty at the Drowning Wench in Limsa Lominsa!


Once again big thanks to Paul and Chille for chatting with us! And as you may have noticed, this is a Part 1! Because we had planned to talk about the expansions leading up to Dawntrail, but we only got as far as A Realm Reborn. Guess we’ll have to schedule a Part 2 at some point! But until then, how about some Time Cues:

  • 00:00:00 – We Start the Carbuncle Chronicling
  • 00:14:41 – Our Humble Beginnings
  • 00:51:09 – A Realm Reborn
  • 01:16:43 – FFXIV 2.0: Then and Now. What’s changed in 10 years?
  • 01:30:21 – Outro

Music used in this episode: “The Carbuncle Chronicle Theme” composed DJ Inubito and arranged by Anna, “The Twin Faces of Fate – The Theme of Ul’dah” composed by Nobuo Uematsu and arranged by Tsutomu Narita, “Torn from the Heavens” composed by Masayoshi Soken, “Pa-Paya” composed by Masayoshi Soken, “Hard to Miss” composed by Masayoshi Soken, “Hard to Miss” composed by Masayoshi Soken, “Out of the Labyrinth” composed by Masayoshi Soken and arranged by Yoshitaka Suzuki, and “Shattered” composed by Masayoshi Soken and arranged by Yoshitaka Suzuki.

We also have YouTube Channels now! Both for OSMcast proper and The Carbuncle Chronicle! Please subscribe, hit the bell, and share amongst your friends.

And as always, feel free to leave us a review on Apple Podcasts! Oh, and if you still use Spotify, go ahead and get on that mobile device and throw us some five stars there too. Tell your friends! As well, just like we mentioned when we do the OSMplugs, you can also join the Discord and support us on Patreon! PS If you have ever wanted some OSMmerch, feel free to check out our TeePublic page! PPS We appreciate you.

The Carbuncle Chronicle Issue 23: Ten Years of Playing Final Fantasy XIV, Part 1
Tagged on:                                                                 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.